How to Delete your Google Internet History and Stop people from tracking your phone

Do you know there are steps you can take to Delete your Google internet history from your phone to prevent people from tracking you? Do you also know that tech giants like Google and Facebook collect huge amount of data from all of us including from your phone? Yes this is true but not to worry as this article will show you how you can delete your search and browsing history on your internet browser especially Google Chrome and protect your self against trackers and hackers. See details below.

How to Delete your Google Internet History and Stop people from tracking your phone

You remember the old saying that those who have nothing to hide, have nothing to fear. But with all the advertisers, employers, and social media giants keeping track of our every move online, everyone and including you should be concerned about their privacy and the information you're putting into the world.

So many people are now spending eight or nine hours daily looking at screens, and with 5.6 billion Google searches being made per day, enormous personal data is being processed, collected and saved.

For example, do you know that if you have 'Location History' turned on in Google, the search giant will be able to track your physical move down to the nearest meter? Or, that social media platforms like Facebook maintain a profile of you that collects all of your interest, tastes, and personality type into one place, so that advertisers can push more targeted ads towards you?

Some of this tech giants claim that all of this information is used simply to improve its services, and is held in a secure server.

Memory lane: Meet the Japanese Prisoner who escape Prison cells four times using a Soup

While this may be true, however cybercrime and hacking incidents increased by 31% last year, and a criminal gaining access to such intimate information about you could be extremely dangerous.

So this is my guide to you on how you can cover your digital tracks, delete your browsing or internet history, and ensure that the personal data collected from you is minimised in future.  

How to Delete your Internet History 

Deleting your internet history is the simplest first step you can take and do in regaining some privacy online, but it's not always entirely effective. You should know that, because of the way the internet works. Even if you delete your internet history, there is still a record out there of every site you've visited. It will only remove it from your computer.

Also remember that the site you visit still keep a record, and if you're on a computer, your employers will still be able to see what you've visited. This is true even if you are using Google's incognito mode.

Are you getting me now? So let's continue.

Google Chrome is the most popular browser ap out there, with 65% of people using it as their main way of accessing the internet. You can delete your Google Chrome history like this below;

1. Click on the three dots in the to right of your browser window.

2. Hover over 'History' and then click it again when it appears on-screen 

3. A list of all the sites you've visited will come up. You can now delete the records one-by-one by clicking the three dots next to each entry.  

4. If you want to Delete your entire history from a period of time, click the three horizontal lines on the left side of the screen, then hit 'Clear browsing data'.

5. A pop-up will give the option to Delete your browser history locally, as well as any -'cookies' th have saved (these are records held by the website's you've visited).

6. Select the period of time yu want deleted, from one hour to all time, and hit 'Clear data'.

Other Extra Privacy Protection from your Google account

Now that you've deleted some of your activity in the past, you might want to tune u your privacy settings to prevent information being gathered from you in future. You can visit your Google account settings, open privacy policy and customized every privacy setting imaginable.

For example,  you can prevent Google from personalizing ads for you, which greatly reduces the amount of data they will be able to use from you. You can also see all of your activity on Google se revives and clear it, prevent your location being tracked, and even delete data from entire services such as YouTube.

Hope this article was useful to You? If you like the post and think it can be useful to someone else, please share it using any of the social buttons below.

Thank you!

What's Your Reaction?

like
1
dislike
0
love
1
funny
0
angry
0
sad
0
wow
1